Swanston Golf Club was founded in 1927 as a "ladies-only" course but due to demand from the members’ partners it was soon opened up to men and extended to 18 holes and a pavilion in 1928.
The course generally did not change until 2006 when work began on seven new holes which opened for play in March 2009. The current clubhouse was opened in 2007.
In April 2016, the 18 hole incorporated two of "the best" holes from the old Lothianburn Golf Course.
The golf course boasts fine views across to Edinburgh, Fife, East Lothian and beyond.
Swanston also has the 9 Hole Par 3 Templar Course, a Driving Range and chipping and putting practice areas. Swanston Golf Academy has 6 covered bays,12 grass bays. The Academy is open to members and the public.
The clubhouse is open to non-members and families, serving food, beers and wines.