Edinburgh Medal Address: Christiana Figueres, "Climate Change Where are We?"

Submitted by edg on Tue, 2 Apr '19 5.33pm
Time & place

The Edinburgh Medal is a prestigious award given each year to men and women of science and technology who are judged to have made a significant contribution to the understanding and wellbeing of humanity. The 2019 Edinburgh Medal is awarded to Christiana Figueres, for her work as a recognised world leader on global climate change and her efforts in bringing nations together to jointly deliver an unprecedented climate change agreement.

Christiana Figueres, Executive Secretary of the UN Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), was instrumental in the successful conclusion of the Paris talks. The Summit saw all of the world’s nations agree for the first time to a binding commitment to avoid dangerous levels of global warming. Figueres served as the UN’s Climate Chief from 2010 until July 2016.

Join Figueres as she discusses the international picture in respect of action to halt climate change. The 2015 Paris Agreement was a historic achievement of international cooperation that charted a course toward addressing global climate change. Since then, some political events have called that international cooperation into question.

Please note this venue is only accessible via stairs.




  • 2018 Prof Cordelia Fine
  • 2017 Prof Peter Piot
  • 2016 Kevin Govender and the IAU
  • 2015 Mary Midgley
  • 2014 Prof Mary Abukutsa-Onyango
  • 2013 Prof Peter Higgs and CERN
  • 2012 Dr James Hansen
  • 2011 Prof Carl Djerassi
  • 2010 Sir Alex Jefferies
  • 2009 Prof Jonathan Beckwith
  • 2008 Prof Chris Rapley
  • 2007 Dr Richard Horton
  • 2006 Prof James Lovelock
  • 2005 Prof Colin Blakemore
  • 2004 Prof Steven Rose
  • 2003 Prof Wang Sung
  • 2002 Dr Lise Kingo
  • 2001 Sir John Sulston
  • 2000 Prof Lynn Margulis
  • 1999 Prof Jocelyn Bell Burnell
  • 1998 Sir David Attenborough
  • 1997 Prof Amartya Sen
  • 1996 Prof Richard Levins
  • 1995 Sir John Crofton
  • 1994 Prof Manuel Pattarroya
  • 1993 Prof Wangari Maathai
  • 1992 Prof Heinz Wolff
  • 1991 Prof Jane Goodall
  • 1990 Prof Stephen J Gould
  • 1989 Prof Abdus Salam