Scottish Bank Holidays

There are nine statutory bank holidays in Scotland set by the Scottish Government. There are also other Edinburgh public holidays which are determined by the local authority, based on local tradition.

For example, Victoria Day is a local holiday in Edinburgh but not other parts of Scotland, while the Spring Bank Holiday in May and the Summer Bank Holiday in early August (Edinburgh Festival time) are not officially marked by the Edinburgh City Council.

Since 2007, St Andrew's Day has been an alternative, voluntary public holiday, which can replace an existing local holiday.

Edinburgh businesses and schools are not necessarily closed on Scottish bank holidays, and Scottish banks may follow the English and Welsh bank holidays for business reasons.

  1. New Year's Day Bank Holiday
  2. 2nd January Bank Holiday
  3. Good Friday Bank Holiday
  4. Early May Bank Holiday
  5. Spring Bank Holiday
  6. Summer Bank Holiday
  7. St. Andrew's Day Bank Holiday
  8. Christmas Day Bank Holiday
  9. Boxing Day Bank Holiday

 An additional, one-off bank holiday was added to mark the Queen's Diamond Jubilee in June 2012.