Scottish National Party Wins Minority

Submitted by edg on Fri, 6 May '16 10.00am

The Scottish National Party have won a third term in the Scottish Parliament, but it will be a minority government.

The SNP won 63 seats - two short of what was needed for a majority.

Labour support slumped by 13 seats to 24, and the Conservatives, making a come-back in Scotland, added another 16 seats. The Scottish Conservative and Unionist party with 31 seats are the biggest opposition party.

The pro-independence Scottish Greens gained another four seats to bring their tally to six, overtaking the Liberal Democrats, who remain at 5 seats, as the fourth party.

Scotland-wide results

  • Scottish National Party: 63 seats
  • Scottish Conservative and Unionist: 31 seats
  • Scottish Labour Party: 24 seats
  • Scottish Green Party: 6 seats
  • Scottish Liberal Democrat Party: 5 seats

Edinburgh Results

These are the results for Edinburgh’s six constituencies and the Lothian Region which were announced earlier this morning at the Royal Highland Centre vote count.

Edinburgh results by constituency

Edinburgh Central Constituency Ruth Davidson, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Edinburgh Eastern Constituency Ash Denham, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Edinburgh Northern & Leith Constituency Ben Macpherson, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Edinburgh Pentlands Constituency Gordon MacDonald, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Edinburgh South Constituency Daniel Johnson, Scottish Labour Party

Edinburgh Western Constituency Alex Cole-Hamilton, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Lothian Region List Results (Based on votes from the nine Lothian Region constituencies: Edinburgh Central, Edinburgh Eastern, Edinburgh Northern & Leith, Edinburgh Pentlands, Edinburgh South, Edinburgh Western, Midlothian North & Musselburgh, Almond Valley and Linlithgow. 327, 719 votes cast across region; turnout: 57.9%)

Miles Briggs Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Alison Johnstone - Scottish Green Party

Kezia Dugdale - Scottish Labour Party

Gordon Lindhurst - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Neil Findlay - Scottish Labour Party

Jeremy Balfour - Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party

Andy Wightman - Scottish Green Party

Voter Turnout in Edinburgh

Constituency turnout: 59.84%
Electorate: 366,165
Votes cast: 219,135

Regional turnout: 59.85%
Electorate: 366,165
Votes cast: 219,170