UK General Election 12 December, 2019: Edinburgh Candidates

Submitted by edg on Sat, 16 Nov '19 10.44pm

The candidates standing in Edinburgh's five constituencies in the UK Parliamentary Election on 12 December have been announced.

Nominations for candidates closed at 4pm today on Thursday.

The candidates are:

Edinburgh East
GILMORE, Sheila - Scottish Labour Party
MILLER, Claire Helen Innes - Scottish Green Party
PRICE, Eleanor Margaret Louise - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
REILLY, Jill Mary - Scottish Liberal Democrats
SHEPPARD, Tommy - Scottish National Party (SNP)

Edinburgh North and Leith
ASTBURY, Heather Jane - Renew
BROCK, Deidre Leanne - Scottish National Party (SNP)
BURGESS, Steve - Scottish Green Party
MCGILL, Iain - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
MUNRO, Gordon John - Labour and Co-operative Party
SPEIRS, Robert - Brexit Party
WILSON, Bruce Roy - Scottish Liberal Democrats

Edinburgh South
BEAL, Alan Christopher - Scottish Liberal Democrats
COOK, Nick - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
MACDONALD, Catriona Mary Elizabeth - Scottish National Party
MURRAY, Ian - Scottish Labour Party
NEVENS, Kate - Scottish Green Party

Edinburgh South West
BALLANTINE, David Craig - Brexit Party
BROWN, Mev - Social Democratic Party Scotland
CHERRY, Joanna Catherine - Scottish National Party (SNP)
COOKE, Sophie - Scottish Labour Party
INGLIS, Tom - Scottish Liberal Democrats
LAIDLAW, Callum Arron - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
PARKER, Ben - Scottish Green Party

Edinburgh West
BOLTON, Craig William - Scottish Labour Party
GUNN, Elaine - Scottish Green Party
HUTCHISON, Graham James - Scottish Conservative and Unionist
JARDINE, Christine Anne - Scottish Liberal Democrats
MASSON, Sarah Louise - Scottish National Party (SNP)

"The forthcoming election has dominated the news for all sorts of reasons and I’m certain it’s a big talking point for residents in Edinburgh and beyond. It’s essential that anyone that wants to take part in the vote makes sure they are registered - it’s easy to do," said Andrew Kerr, Chief Executive of the City of Edinburgh Council and Returning Officer for Edinburgh in the UK Parliamentary Elections.

“Visit to check if you’re registered by 26 November – it only takes a few minutes. Those who have already registered will soon begin receiving poll cards - read your poll card carefully to make sure you get to the right place to cast your vote on polling day."

To vote in the UK Parliamentary Elections on 12 December, voters must be aged 18 or over and either a British, Irish or qualifying Commonwealth citizen.

Voter registration closes at midnight on Tuesday 26 November. Anyone already registered for the European Election on 23 May does not need to re-register. However, anyone who has changed address since then needs to re-register to be able to vote in the UK Parliamentary Elections on 12 December. Visit the voter registration website to register.

Applications for postal votes must be submitted by 5pm on Tuesday 26 November.

Applications to vote by proxy must be submitted by 5pm on Wednesday 4 December.

Postal ballot packs will soon be sent out to residents who have registered. Postal voters are encouraged to return their completed ballots as soon as possible.

Voters should mark an X beside one candidate.

Find out more about where, when and how to vote.