Foster's Edinburgh Comedy Awards 2013 Winners

Bridget Christie in her show A Bic for Her picked up the top Comedy award 2013.

Bridget Christie follows Jenny Éclair and Laura Solon to be the third woman to wins the main prize She was performing at the Stand. Steve Coogan presented the 2013 Foster’s Edinburgh Comedy award ,an award he won 23 years ago.

Best Comedy Show with a cash prize of £10,000

The nominations were:

Bridget Christie – A Bic for Her
Carl Donnelly -Now that’s what I call
James Ancaster -Lawnmower
Max and Ivan - The reunion
Mike Woznaik-Take the Hit
Nick Helm – One man Mega Myth
Seann Walsh –The Lie King

John Kearns wins the best newcomer (PBH) selected from the Free
Fringe Best Newcomer with a cash prize of £5,000

Nominations for Best Newcomer

Aisling Bea –Cest La Bea
John Kearns –Sight for Gags
Liam Wikkiams
Matt Okine-Being black and chicken
Romesh Ranganathan -Rom Com

Adrienne Trustcott picked up the Fosters Comedy Awards Panel Prize
This adds to her increasingly prestigeous Malcolm Hardee Award and Total Theatre nomination

"We were on the outsider Fringe with a new model..." Adrienne Truscot

Panel Prize with a cash prize of £5,000

The Free Fringe has come of age and has now found its place as the development space of the Fringe. It brings new quality acts to the Fringe, and allows it to be discovered without promising personal financial ruin. It’s healthy and it create new audiences which in the end benefits the whole of the Edinburgh Festival.

“For the first year at the Fringe not a single award for the so called big four pay-to-play venues
But this is not a negative snipe...
Rather it is a positive celebration of independence which reflects the sea change that has been happening at the Fringe
How lovely.”.. Bob Slayer

Personally I believe that it shows how thorough and fair Fosters Edinburgh Comedy Judges are, they certainly do their homework, and cover all the comedy shows possible right across the Fringe irrespective of the venue's status. But then again I remember Steve Coogan receiving his award all these years ago.. I was there…..and have watched the infants grow into giants of Comedy....
Good luck to all the winners from and that includes all the nominees.