Scottish Ensemble: Concert for a Summer Night

Submitted by edg on Sat, 18 Jun '22 9.26am
Image (reusable)
Black and white close-up of violinist's hands
Joel Wyncott
Time & place
Tickets and info

Scottish Ensemble's inaugural touring edition of Concerts for a Summer’s Night comes to Edinburgh on the Summer Solstice.

The 12-piece ensemble will perform in the expansive National Museum of Scotland, making the most of the natural light as the sun begins to set (see Summer Solstice Sunrise and Sunset for times).


  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Overture to The Magic Flute
  • Franz Schubert: Gretchen at the Spinning Wheel [arr. Dobrinka Tabakova]
  • Thomas Adès: Das Klinget so herrlich, das klinget so schon (It sounds so wonderful, it sounds so nice) from Arcadiana
  • Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Queen of the Night Aria from The Magic Flute
  • Henry Purcell: Fantasia upon one note
  • William Grant Still: Summerland
  • Antonín Dvořák: American Quartet (final movement)