Situated alongside St Giles, off the Royal Mile, this was home to the Scottish parliament and is now the location of the Court of Session, Scotland's supreme civil court (the supreme criminal court is the High Court of Justiciary).
Behind the façade of Parliament House is a collection of buildings ranging over seven floors and containing more than 700 rooms.
The original building, Parliament Hall, was home to the Scottish Parliament from 1639 until the Acts of Union with England in 1707 when the parliament was adjourned.
The Advocates Library and the Signet Hall and Library, are connected to the west side of Parliament House. The Advocates Library, founded in 1682, and located in a William Henry Playfair-designed building is used extensively by legal professionals. The Signet Library with its elegant columns, barrel cupola and balcony with ornate balustrade, is a popular venue for weddings and special events.
A public exhibition held in the Summer has charted the history, traditions and ceremonies of the home of Scotland's Supreme Courts. The display, entitled 'Parliament House, The Hidden Gem', was introduced to celebrate completion of a £58 million redevelopment of Parliament House.
Not to be confused with the modern Scottish Parliament building at Holyrood.